ALERT!
Click here to register with a few steps and explore all our cool stuff we have to offer!

Photo

Need help in Java? I gotchu

• Please log in to reply
Need help in Java? I gotchu

LucTheDuke96
LucTheDuke96
    Rep
    Advanced Member

Threads: 7
Credits: 0

Four years registered

I'm new to the forum and trying to contribute. I'm a software engineer. Shoot me a message if you got any questions!

FaithHF
FaithHF
    Rep
    SESH

Threads: 36

Seven years registered

Is there any easy way to make a true fork of a process in Java? I don't mean threading, since the thread dies after it's done its purpose. I mean something like fork() from the C language which returns an int, either the new PID for the child process or 0 if it's the parent.

I know I can use JNI as a complete last resort, but I'd like to stay away from JNI calls if I'm already using Java for more abstraction.

EDIT: I'd also like to kill the parent process once forked, hence why threads really don't work for this. But for that I can just use runtime(taskkill) or maybe a JNI call to system(), since at least I won't need to be using JNI to manage everything afterwards.

Boxedpillows
Boxedpillows
    Rep

Threads: 0
Four years registered
What are ways to reduce cpu utiization by explicitly calling garbage collection?

LucTheDuke96
LucTheDuke96
    Rep
    Advanced Member

Four years registered

What are ways to reduce cpu utiization by explicitly calling garbage collection?

It depends what you are doing, however system.gc() will attempt to force a major garbage collection

LucTheDuke96
LucTheDuke96
    Rep
    Advanced Member

Four years registered

Is there any easy way to make a true fork of a process in Java? I don't mean threading, since the thread dies after it's done its purpose. I mean something like fork() from the C language which returns an int, either the new PID for the child process or 0 if it's the parent.